Bright Eyes – Down In The Weeds, Where The World Once Was

Regular price $54.95

‘Down in the Weeds, Where the World Once Was’ is an enormous record caught in the profound in-between of grief and clarity – one arm wrestling its demons, the other gripping the hand of love, in spite of it. 

The end of Bright Eyes’ unofficial hiatus came naturally. Conor Oberst pitched the idea of getting the band back together during a 2017 Christmas party at Bright Eyes bandmate Nathaniel Walcott’s Los Angeles home. The two huddled in the bathroom and called Mike Mogis, who was Christmas shopping at an Omaha mall. Mogis immediately said yes. There was no specific catalyst for the trio, aside from finding comfort amidst a decade of brutal change. Sure, Why now? is the question, but for a project whose friendship is at the core, it was simply Why not? 

The resulting Bright Eyes album came together unlike any other of its predecessors. Down in the Weeds is Bright Eyes’ most collaborative, stemming from only one demo and written in stints in Omaha and in bits and pieces in Walcott’s Los Angeles home. Radically altering a writing process 25 years into a project seems daunting, but Oberst said there was no trepidation: “Our history and our friendship, and my trust level with them, is so complete and deep. And I wanted it to feel as much like a three-headed monster as possible.” 

Down in the Weeds is a distillation of a prolific, enduring canon. It’s immediate and urgent, the product of its creators’ growth across a decade apart, as well as the need to make a record together to find solace from loss. Through deliberate, fearless experimentation in process, the trio made the truest Bright Eyes sound: the sound of a deep bond, of a band coming home, but also a seamless continuation, like Bright Eyes never went away. It’s the impossible, sprawling mess of human experience that Bright Eyes has always sought to put to tape, since the beginning – the sound of holding on. Why now? Why not?

2LP: Side D contains an animated phenakistoscope etching by Drew Tetz. Viewable from a camera by placing the disc on the turntable under direct light. Viewable to the naked eye through the use of a strobe. Also includes a 4-panel lyric booklet.

Available on transparent red + transparent orange coloured vinyl.


A1. Pageturners Rag
A2. Dance and Sing
A3. Just once in the World
A4. Mariana Trench

B1. One and Done
B2. Pan and Broom
B3. Stairwell Song
B4. Persona Non Grata
B5. Tilt-A-Whirl
B6. Hot Car in the Sun

C1. Forced Convalescence
C2. To Death’s Heart (In Three Parts)
C3. Calais to Dove
C4. Comet Song

Or 6 weekly interest free payments from $9.15 with what's this?